Here is what our students have to say about us. All reviews written by former students of the Velocity Online LSAT Prep Course. See how good-looking they are? We did that.

(We didn't. But we did help them get better LSAT scores!)

+ Add Your Review   /   View LSAT Course Details   /   View LSAT Course Pricing

Anya R
5
5/5

Dave is the best - there is no one out there that can compete! I used various course materials prior to finding Dave & there is just nothing that comes even close to Dave's way of teaching. I wasn't able to truly 'get' the LSAT until finding Velocity - I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to really master the test!

Anya R
5
5/5

Last June, I had no idea where to begin when it came to studying for the LSAT. The test seemed so daunting and there were so many different programs and books to choose from. Based on some good word of mouth, I decided to give Velocity Test Prep a try.

I worked through the videos, the practice tests, all of it, and today I finally got back my score: 171, higher...

Alex Patrick
Amber K.
5
5/5

No doubt your program, materials and 'eye of the tiger' attitude helped me make at least a 10 point jump. The LSAT was an enormous psychological hurdle for me. I was really bummed at my low starting score. I felt defeated and like I wasn't smart enough to beat it. Your program allowed me to be calm but fierce and steadily work towards performing better. After the test...

Amber K.
5
5/5

Velocity is the sole reason I increased 10 points from my June LSAT score to my February score. In fact, finding Dave's public logic games videos 2 days before the June test may be one of the reasons it was my best section the first time around. Dave approaches the LSAT in a way that helps you understand how to approach every question FIERCELY and taught me how to have...

Dayle C
Michael S.
5
5/5

Most of the instructors that I've seen or heard only speak nerd, and while Dave is on their level in terms of intelligence he doesn't instruct in such a way YOU have to be on that level to understand.

Dave's system of studying at your own pace was a lifesaver as for me. I was signed up to take the December test, and as a head basketball coach I was already...

Michael S.
Nemesh B.
5
5/5

Not only is Dave Hall an amazing LSAT teacher, he is a great mentor and has helped me throughout the entire process of applying to law school. He made learning the LSAT fun, understandable, and interesting while offering a tangible method to beat the test. In my opinion, Dave's methods are easy to implement and with enough practice anyone can achieve a 170+ score with...

Nemesh B.
Megan W
5
5/5

If you are like me, you tried to study for the LSAT on your own and thought the test couldn't possibly that hard, and then left the test thinking, dang- it WAS that hard. Well, don't give up, because with Dave's Velocity Test Prep you will leave the test the second time thinking... ok, it wasn't THAT hard after all.

Megan W
Kyle M.
5
5/5

Dave is ridiculously talented and his efficient explanations are second to none. I'm a little bit less of a "bookworm" than your typical LSAT taker so his simplistic, straightforward, "guy at the end of the bar" way of describing these seemingly complex concepts is spot on for my style.

Kyle M.

Velocity LSAT Prep Course Reviews Statistics

Rated 5.0/5.0 based on 39 Total Reviews
5
5/5

Dave is the best - there is no one out there that can compete! I used various course materials prior to finding Dave & there is just nothing that comes even close to Dave's way of teaching. I wasn't able to truly 'get' the LSAT until finding Velocity - I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to really master the test!

Anya R
4/10/2012
5
5/5

I can't thank Dave enough for all the help he provided me throughout this whole process. The thing I loved most about Velocity was Dave's individualized approach to helping each student with their specific needs; he took the time to work with me personally and give me drills to do to hone in on my weaknesses, which ended up increasing my score dramatically. It's an amazing feeling to have an instructor who genuinely believes in his students and cares about their progress. I'm very happy with my decision to prep with Velocity. Thanks so much for everything, Dave!

Dan M
7/6/2012
Before Velocity - 152
After Velocity - 166
5
5/5

Deciding to retake and signing up for Velocity is probably one of the best decisions I ever made. In the past, I would miss ~4 answers between the LR and RC sections combined, but score < 171 because of getting ~9 LG wrong.

The LG course was great for me. It really taught me to internalize the patterns of the games and to methodically attack the section. Even though I only bought the LG course, Velocity helped me on the other sections as well: you get 12 practice tests and complete video explanations for all the sections on those tests. Watching them helped get me to very confidently score a combined -1 or -0 on practice tests, and just -1 LR on the real thing. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

AF
7/7/2012
Before Velocity - 170
After Velocity - 177
5
5/5

Dave's course was exactly what I needed to improve my LSAT score. First off, his videos are very, very entertaining: so much so that I never really felt like I was actually "studying." But even more importantly, Dave's course helps you understand the LSAT and all of its little nuances. With his help, I was able to score a 172 and will be applying to the top five schools this fall.

Korey Inglin
7/11/2012
After Velocity - 172
5
5/5

Dave is ridiculously talented and his efficient explanations are second to none. I'm a little bit less of a "bookworm" than your typical LSAT taker so his simplistic, straightforward, "guy at the end of the bar" way of describing these seemingly complex concepts is spot on for my style.

Kyle M.
10/10/2012
5
5/5

No doubt your program, materials and 'eye of the tiger' attitude helped me make at least a 10 point jump. The LSAT was an enormous psychological hurdle for me. I was really bummed at my low starting score. I felt defeated and like I wasn't smart enough to beat it. Your program allowed me to be calm but fierce and steadily work towards performing better. After the test, I can hardly believe I once allowed the challenge of the LSAT make me believe I wasn't born or cut out to be a lawyer. I promise to use my future legal powers for good, and not evil. Thank you for empowering me!

Amber K.
10/10/2012
5
5/5

Dave turns the LSAT from an arduous 600 page novel, into an easy to read children’s book. His Velocity program allows the average person to see clear patterns, which allows anyone at any level to answer all questions with efficiency and accuracy. I, myself, raised my score by 22 points, and I owe it all to Dave.

Joel T.
10/10/2012
5
5/5

I distinctly remember clicking "play" on my first video lesson. Within two minutes I thought to myself - "I'm going to be writing a testimonial when all of this is said and done". Ten weeks and 10-point improvement later I'm proud to be convey this to all who are reading. Dave Hall will get you where you want to be. His teaching style is simple and efficient. His approach to each section of LSAT is flawless. And the best part is - it is all learnable. If you have the desire and work ethic to devote yourself to Dave's program, you will succeed. Thank you Dave and Team Velocity! Without you guys, I would never have reached my LSAT potential.

Gabe G.
10/10/2012
5
5/5

I got a 172 and so can you! Dave is the man to show you how. Dave's developed a unique set of skills which allows him to break down the LSAT in all of its gargantuan complexity into simple bite-sized pieces. His approach is disciplined, methodical, effective and instantly accesible. Every thousand mile journey starts with a single step. Do the right thing, sign up with Velocity and conquer the LSAT like I did.

Rob D
11/2/2012
Before Velocity - 163
After Velocity - 172
5
5/5

I would describe Dave Hall as the Jedi Master of LSAT prep instructors. He is wise, insightful, an incredible teacher and yes he can move objects with the Force.

David Bowen
11/2/2012
Before Velocity - 155
After Velocity - 170
5
5/5

I chose Velocity Test Prep because with a full time job and a busy lifestyle, there was no way I could allocate time for a traditional classroom LSAT prep course. Furthermore Velocity is priced much more competitively than other services, but all that aside the most important reason I recommend Velocity is because it is effective. If you do the work and follow the syllabus you will see results. You can revisit lessons and watch them over and over, which is unique to an online style course like Velocity. Dave Hall not only teaches you how to beat the LSAT, but he also makes you laugh and builds your confidence along the way. I just can't recommend his course enough, it truly is the best way to prep for the LSAT.

Alex Ackel
1/3/2013
Before Velocity - 153
After Velocity - 165
5
5/5

Reading Comprehension was my big weakness. On the October 2012 LSAT, I missed 7 RC questions. I was crushed, because my Logic Games and Logical Reasoning sections were stellar. RC was costing me my dream. Then, I got Dave. His RC system broke everything down to idiot-proof levels. I went into my retake test confident and walked out with a 177. I couldn't be happier, and I owe everything to Dave and Velocity. This course was some of the best money I ever spent.

Will B.
1/3/2013
Before Velocity - 169
After Velocity - 177
5
5/5

Not only is Dave Hall an amazing LSAT teacher, he is a great mentor and has helped me throughout the entire process of applying to law school. He made learning the LSAT fun, understandable, and interesting while offering a tangible method to beat the test. In my opinion, Dave's methods are easy to implement and with enough practice anyone can achieve a 170+ score with them. Also, Dave would respond immediately and with video responses to the numerous questions I would ask almost daily. Having Dave to reach out to was like having a mentor available at all times via internet for whatever help I needed in getting admitted to law school. I couldn't have done it without him! (12 point improvement)

Nemesh B.
1/5/2013
5
5/5

I just want to say that before Velocity, I was facing an abyss. After taking another company’s course and putting months of training in, I scored a 158. Dave’s course took complex concepts and made them easy to understand. In games, instead of magical inferences, Velocity provided a systematic approach that works for any game the LSAT could throw at me. In the end games went from being my weakest section to my strongest with marked improvements in the other sections. Final result: a score of 170. Now I have lots of options for law school and a bright future a head. Thanks Dave!

Aaron F.
1/5/2013
Before Velocity - 158
After Velocity - 170
5
5/5

I feel so lucky that I found the Velocity system. Since the class, I have enthusiastically recommended Dave to anyone who aspires to apply to law school-- there's just no comparison. In the beginning, the LSAT was so puzzling to me, specifically the games section, and after the course I had an arsenal of strategies to tackle each section. I am no longer in fear of the LSAT and I can thank Dave Hall for that.

Tanya Taylor
1/6/2013
Before Velocity - 145
After Velocity - 159
5
5/5

With Velocity Test Prep and a lot of work, LG finally clicked for me. I scored a 176!

Stefan Giudici
3/6/2013
Before Velocity - 165
After Velocity - 176
5
5/5

If you are like me, you tried to study for the LSAT on your own and thought the test couldn't possibly that hard, and then left the test thinking, dang- it WAS that hard. Well, don't give up, because with Dave's Velocity Test Prep you will leave the test the second time thinking... ok, it wasn't THAT hard after all.

Megan W
7/1/2013
Before Velocity - 155
After Velocity - 173
5
5/5

Success story! I just got my lsat score notification - it was better than any of the practice tests I'd taken up to that point - 177! I loved this course. Great flexibility, always clear and logical, really high quality. On test day I felt super prepared/calm/focused, and it paid off. (I kind of wish all other education happened this way too, but that's a different story.) Highly recommended for anyone wanting to do really well on this test. Thanks Dave!

Scott
7/2/2013
After Velocity - 177
5
5/5

Prior to this course I had never even taken a standardized exam. The first class I took my first proctored LSAT and scored a whopping 144 :( After taking Velocity's course and a lot of self-discipline, I scored 165 on test day. I'm very happy with the 21 point increase and NEVER taking the LSAT again!! Dave also helped me write a solid personal statement that I am very happy with. Thanks Dave, you rock!!!

Ben C
7/8/2013
Before Velocity - 144
After Velocity - 165
5
5/5

Using the Velocity LSAT test prep materials and online videos allowed me to score higher than I ever thought possible. The videos are engaging and easy to comprehend and the book of practice exams + explanations for EVERY question is invaluable. Thanks Dave!

Caroline
7/17/2013
Before Velocity - 156
After Velocity - 169
5
5/5

First, you've created an incredible thing with Velocity.  Being unemployed after grad school and needing to prepare for the lsat, I knew I didn't have the money to blow on an lsat course, and was planning to self study.  This is before I found your site and signed up. I'm confident that I got a better preparation experience than I would have anywhere else, for probably less than half the price.  Here's why I think your program is superior:

  • Online Video lectures are superior to the in class lecture experience.  No one can pay attention to everything in a 1 to however many hour lecture and take everything in.  With videos dedicated to teaching just a few concepts in less than 15 minutes, you get every word. If you zone out, you rewind. If you are referencing something that I've forgotten, I can pause and figure out whatever I need.
  • Your enthusiasm is infectious.  I actually enjoyed studying for the lsat, something that the me of three months ago would probably find ludicrous.
  • Having explanations of questions on video is also superior to reading the correct answer in a book, because listening to someone narrate how they solved a problems gives you more insight into their thought process than a carefully worded written explanation.
  • Fast/complete/very helpful e-mail responses to any specific questions.
  • Great advice on study habits.  I feel more prepared for learning any information after taking your course.

So yeah - I'm really grateful for the program!

Mark H.
10/19/2013
5
5/5

Most of the instructors that I've seen or heard only speak nerd, and while Dave is on their level in terms of intelligence he doesn't instruct in such a way YOU have to be on that level to understand.

Dave's system of studying at your own pace was a lifesaver as for me. I was signed up to take the December test, and as a head basketball coach I was already working over 80 hrs a week. Dave's program and system allowed me to study on my own time.

Before taking this class I had gone through another programs books and there seemed an infinite number or ways that the writers of the LSAT could screw me on the games. I didn't really understand the ins and outs of the arguments either, and I had no idea the reading passages followed the pattern that they did. After going through the other program's books, my average score was a 154. By the time I was done with Dave's course my average score was in the mid 160's and I ended up getting a 164 on the test, which put me in the 90th percentile. So an increase of 10pts after I had already gone through another full length program.

Thanks Dave. If you ever make your way to Fort Worth you have a steak dinner and a cold beer waiting on you.

Michael

Michael S.
1/4/2014
Before Velocity - 154
After Velocity - 164
5
5/5

Thanks for the help with the games! It was great to have someone break it down in a way that was easy to understand. It was also great that I could study on my own schedule. When I first started this program, I could not have imagined I would get a 170. Now, every school in the country is fair game! Thanks, Dave!

Tyler
3/3/2014
Before Velocity - 155
After Velocity - 170
5
5/5

I really believe in Dave and his philosophy as an instructor. The way he breaks down the flaws of the logical reasoning section is second to none. I scored a 163 in Feb. and I could not have done it without Dave's help. I felt I had a serious advantage over my peers that had taken other classes and scored much lower. If you want to succeed Dave can truly help you. Im so glad I made the investment in Velocity…now i'll pay next to nothing for law school (talk about a return on investment). I am planning to retake in June. With Dave's help I am hoping to score a 166.

Brian H.
3/12/2014
After Velocity - 163
5
5/5

The first time that I took the LSAT, I panicked on the games section. The preparation materials that I had used emphasized making inferences, and when I realized that there were few inferences to be made on that particular set of games, I froze. I ended up canceling my score. I turned to Velocity because of its reputation for approaching the games systematically. For someone like me, who doesn't find the games intuitive, relying on an established system allayed my anxiety and vastly improved my performance. I scored a 178 on my next test. I am almost certainly that I could not have do it without Velocity.

Katie
5/16/2014
Before Velocity - ???
After Velocity - 178
5
5/5

In college, I got 4 C+'s, 10 C's, 2 C-'s, 1 D+, 2 D-'s, and 3 F's. In my last quarter, I had a 1.2 grade point average; I graduated with a 2.9. Despite that, I got to go to a great law school, which in turn led to a great job, which in turn led to a pretty great life.

I owe a lot to my LSAT score, which is really another way of saying I owe a lot to Dave Hall. If you know someone who's studying for the LSAT, she'd probably want to check this out.

Akhil S
11/7/2014
5
5/5

I think the podcasts are tremendously helpful, especially for those of us who have limited budgets and can’t come up with the money for the full course. Your humor and examples taken from everyday life provide a clear understanding of the structure behind logic that can subsequently be applied to the questions on the test.

Josh
9/16/2011
5
5/5

Between here and TLS I have probably exceeded my quoted on praise but I definitely need to give props when they are owed. Today I took a practice test and got -6 on RC I have only got -6 only one other time during my prep tests on RC but today using your mechanistic approach for SPAM, Read Actively, and assessing difficulty. I answered questions with confidence. I didn't feel rushed while doing the section. Both of these things were new to me during RC. So thank you for developing a great system and also teaching it with such passion and success where implementing it is....dare I say, somewhat fun. I'm confident with practice and getting more familiar your techniques I will be able to improve even more!

Shubhdeep T
9/24/2011
5
5/5

You guys are LSAT rock stars and I greatly appreciate your insights.

Max R
10/19/2011
5
5/5

Velocity is the best, so glad im taking this course, even if i don't attain that great score, ill find solace in the jugglers, the emma/wynona watsons and their sandwiches which may or may not be peanut butter., and the fact that in most arguments "someone has assumed some sh*t". 

I do wish it would be you taking this exam rather than me, but,  im doing my best to be a respectable student of the Dave Hall method.

Noel L
2/5/2012
5
5/5

These videos are great. You remind me of my high school Calculus teacher in that you enjoy teaching this material as much as we, the students, enjoy learning it. Keep on keepin' on!

Matthew C
9/27/2012
5
5/5

Thank you so much for posting these videos... at 30 I am ready to start law school... thanks for getting me ready for October.

Aaron
8/6/2012
5
5/5

Dave is a legit teacher. I wish I could've found him before I blew my wad (read: too much cash) on crappy Kaplan test prep garbage and before a week prior to the tests... I found his podcasts because after going through an entire course and practicing I was still coming up -20, -22 etc. After watching the free content he has available, I moved up to a -7 or -9 depending on the test.

For example, the LG methods described elsewhere work but take too long or are just plain going about it wrong. Just from the free videos I got this - global accounting, conditionals, could be true, must be true. Just the fact that I'm doing it in that order shaved minutes off of each question. The thought never occurred to me without it, and worse, it wasn't even suggested in the traditional course. The closest it got was "don't skip the global accounting, it's a free point - which I now know is total and utter garbage.

Luckily my wife will be doing the LSAT within the next couple of years - she will definitely take the comprehensive course. (I'll probably still watch some of the videos too, not only is he informative he's entertaining.)

John L
6/12/2012
5
5/5

Thank you so much for your help, Dave! I've been prepping for the LSAT for months now with Princeton Review, and have seen NO significant results; however, with your videos I'm almost certain to see great results! Your descriptions -- particularly with the LR section -- really resonate with me. And for that, thank you so much!

Best,
A broke college student

Ethan H
5/29/2012
5
5/5

After 28 days of Velocity, I've gone from -16 on logical reasoning practice tests to -3.  Going for the perfect!   I've already convinced two of my friends to jump into the course.  This is one kick ass package. 

Elena D
6/14/2012
5
5/5

Velocity is the sole reason I increased 10 points from my June LSAT score to my February score. In fact, finding Dave's public logic games videos 2 days before the June test may be one of the reasons it was my best section the first time around. Dave approaches the LSAT in a way that helps you understand how to approach every question FIERCELY and taught me how to have confidence in myself. I strongly recommend Velocity Test Prep to anyone considering taking the LSAT!

Dayle C
3/3/2015
Before Velocity - 155
After Velocity - 165
5
5/5

So far, so good! Dave has been helpful and accessible throughout this process. The course is fun and Dave is an excellent teacher - he's truly passionate about sharing his knowledge with his students and I'm looking forward to taking this test!

M Phillips
4/24/2015
5
5/5

Just wanted to say a HUGE thank you to you and your course. Got my score back yesterday for the June test and did even better than I'd ever hoped - 167. Your course made the difference, it is so well done; so clear and easy to understand. And you're an excellent teacher, please keep doing what you do, cause you rock!

Caitlyn B
7/7/2015
After Velocity - 167
5
5/5

Last June, I had no idea where to begin when it came to studying for the LSAT. The test seemed so daunting and there were so many different programs and books to choose from. Based on some good word of mouth, I decided to give Velocity Test Prep a try.

I worked through the videos, the practice tests, all of it, and today I finally got back my score: 171, higher than I had dared to hope for.

I owe my score to Dave's fun, inventive teaching style and the resources you provided. It was worth every penny and more.

Alex Patrick
10/23/2015
Before Velocity - 161
After Velocity - 171